Today, is a turning point!

Easter Sunday with family and friends, always a good way to start a day. A friend, which I don’t often see told me today she was amazed at my talent as a photographer. My recent images of India was the subject of her comments. She told me she looks forward to any of my post that contain a photo. She noted that I catch the essence of my subject. I have never thought of myself as an artist, just someone that enjoys taking photos. I read everything I can get my hands on that discusses ways to improve your photography. There are times when I think I read to much and don’t spend enough time taking photos. I now look at everything to see the light and composition as if I was going to take a photo. I now have gotten into the habit of looking at everything from right to left, you would be amazed at how much detail you will see when you do that. I think today is a turning point, less time researching “how to” and more time “doing”. Tomorrow I am going to shoot that water wheel mill that I have driven by dozens of time.

About delmarvagrapher

I once saw a thread in Fred Miranda that debated the issue if someone is a hobbyist or a professional. One individual stated that he was an “enthusiast” rather than hobbyist. He noted that an enthusiast takes it more serious that a hobbyist. I guess I can say I’m an enthusiast photographer, I take it very seriously. I have often said I will travel anywhere to take a photo. I won First Place in the Landscape category in the first Photography Contest that I entered and I had a image published in an Alaskan publication for tourist. I have traveled to Yellowstone, Grand Tetons, Arches and Canyonlands National Parks, Ecuador, Amazon basin, India, New Zealand and Australia for photo opportunities. I have been asked many times if I intend to sell my images. I would not want to rob the pleasure and joy out of photography by turning it into a job. This is not to say I would not sell my picture, but I do not want to turn it into a 9-5 job.

2 responses »

  1. Bill, I too have been delighted with your images, especially the last group from your recent trip. Looking forward to seeing what inspires you next and to how you inspire us.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

