Sunflower

Many times I have traveled through the fields of Maryland and Delaware, passing rows of sunflowers, telling myself that one day I would stop and take a picture. Well today I finally did just that. I have always been very respectful of other people property and will ask permission to take pictures of their “stuff”, my subjects. Today, I could not find the owner of the field that had the sunflower, so, I stood on the edge of his property and took the shot of the sunflower, using the afternoon sun as the side light, hoping to catch the sun as it reflected its light on the head of the flower.

About delmarvagrapher

I once saw a thread in Fred Miranda that debated the issue if someone is a hobbyist or a professional. One individual stated that he was an “enthusiast” rather than hobbyist. He noted that an enthusiast takes it more serious that a hobbyist. I guess I can say I’m an enthusiast photographer, I take it very seriously. I have often said I will travel anywhere to take a photo. I won First Place in the Landscape category in the first Photography Contest that I entered and I had a image published in an Alaskan publication for tourist. I have traveled to Yellowstone, Grand Tetons, Arches and Canyonlands National Parks, Ecuador, Amazon basin, India, New Zealand and Australia for photo opportunities. I have been asked many times if I intend to sell my images. I would not want to rob the pleasure and joy out of photography by turning it into a job. This is not to say I would not sell my picture, but I do not want to turn it into a 9-5 job.

2 responses »

  1. I do that all the time, too. Tell myself I’ll stop and get a photo! Beautful shot!

    Reply
    • Thank you Carah, just visited your site as well, nicely done. Good luck in your future with becoming a professional photographer. Notice you love/enjoy macro. I just started playing with my new canon 100mm macro. Ilan on posting some macro shots on my blog soon. Again thanks for visiting and the comment left on the blog.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

